Posts

Netflix logo

“Your Netflix Account Has Been Suspended”: Phishing Scam To Look Out For

While it’s months since the Netflix phishing scam was first reported, unfortunately, it’s showing no signs of slowing down anytime soon. For those unaware, a popular phishing scam targets Netflix users with an urgent email notifying the user that their account has been suspended and requires immediate action. However, this fake, yet convincing, landing page is just the hacker’s first step toward collecting your sensititve data, sometimes going as far as requiring your social security number, credit card number, and more.

Read the full article from WIRED to learn ways to protect yourself against phishing scams that expose your sensitive data. Have questions? Contact the experts at ABS. We’re more than happy to provide you with the advice and service you need to protect your systems and information, and have the tools and technicians to do the job right to meet your needs.

google-docs-phishing

Avoiding the Latest “Google Docs” Phishing Scam

If you’re like us, you use email on a daily basis to communicate information to clients, colleagues, and friends. But, with any routine, we tend to become a bit too comfortable with it, move faster than we should, and ultimately make some mistakes that may have been prevented just by slowing down and assessing the situation at hand with a clear head. This can happen easily if we are unaware of certain Phishing Scams.

Google Docs is a popular word processor that allows for easy sharing and editing, and can be a great business tool when used for its intended purpose. Unfortunately, the widely used service has become the latest mask over a major phishing scam that’s sweeping the internet today.

Haven’t heard about the Fake “Google Docs” Phishing Scam? Here’s the rundown. Users are receiving an email that appears to be a Google Doc shared with them by an email contact they know. The email recipient will then be asked to click the link on the shared “Google Docs” file, and ultimately are asked to grant the fraudulant “Google” account full access to your emails, contacts, password resets, and more. Once clicked, your information is no longer secure, and may become compromised, as the cycle continues on using your contact list and other information you’ve now granted access to believing it to be a standard permissions checkpoint from the legitimate Google company.

While phishing scams are becoming more sophisticated, they can be avoided if you’re vigilant of the warning signs. This article from WIRED offers some great tips for how to protect yourself from phishing scams, like the latest one, now and in the future: https://www.wired.com/2017/05/dont-open-google-doc-unless-youre-positive-legit/

Have you found yourself the victim of the latest “Google Docs” Phishing Scam? Give ABS a call. We can help get you back on the right track to securing your account and sensitive data.